

THE STATES assembled on Thursday, 17th December, 1981 at 11 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Sir Frank Ereaut.

General Sir Peter Whiteley, G.C.B., O.B.E., His Excellency The Lieutenant Governor, was present.

All members were present.

Prayers.

## Welcome to new members.

The Bailiff welcomed to the House the new members of the States.

## **Appointment of Presidents of Committees.**

THE STATES, in accordance with Standing Order 41, appointed Presidents of Committees and other delegations of the Assembly as follows –

Finance and Economics Senator Ralph Vibert,

Committee O.B.E.

Defence Committee Senator John William Ellis

(Deputy Sir Martin

Le Quesne of St. Saviour defeated by 34 votes to 19)

Harbours and Airport

Committee

Senator Bernard Thomas

Binnington

Public Works Committee

Deputy Donald George Filleul of St. Helier

**Education Committee** 

Senator Reginald Robert

Jeune, O.B.E.

Public Health Committee

Senator John Le Marquand (Senator Anne Baal defeated

by 38 votes to 15)

Agriculture and Fisheries

Committee

Senator Richard Joseph

Shenton

(William John Morvan, Connétable of St. Lawrence defeated by 33 votes to 20)

**Tourism Committee** 

Senator John Stephen

Rothwell

(Senator Pierre François Horsfall defeated by 28 votes to 25)

Social Security
Committee

Deputy Francis Hedley Morel of St. Saviour

Island Development

Committee

Deputy Norman Stuart Le Brocq of St. Helier

Housing Committee Senator Jane Patricia

Sandeman

Resources Recovery

**Board** 

Deputy John Le Gallais of

St. Saviour

Policy Advisory

Committee

Senator Pierre François

Horsfall

**Telecommunications** 

Board

William John Morvan,

Connétable of St. Lawrence

Etat Civil Committee Deputy Jack Roche of

St. Saviour

Legislation Committee Deputy Edgar John Becquet

of Trinity

(Deputy Sir Martin

Le Quesne of St. Saviour defeated by 37 votes to 16)

Conmittee Leonard James Norman,
Committee Connétable of St. Saviour

Prison Board Deputy Alfred Durell

Le Brocq of St. John (Deputy Terence John Le Main of St. Helier defeated by 42 votes to 11)

Establishment Committee Senator John Clark Averty

Elizabeth House Senator Anne Baal

Committee

Ann Alice Rayner Fund Senator Ralph Vibert,

Delegation O.B.E.

Gambling Control Deputy Jack Roche of

Committee St. Saviour

Fort Regent Deputy Brian Edward Troy

Development Committee of St. Saviour

Overseas Aid Committee Deputy Jean Amy

Le Maistre of St. Helier

Committee for Postal Deputy Jean Amy

Administration Le Maistre of St. Helier

Broadcasting Committee Deputy Enid Clare Quenault

of St. Brelade

(Senator John Philip

de Carteret 14 votes, Deputy Michael Walter Bonn of St. Peter 18 votes, Deputy Enid Clare Quenault of St. Brelade 20 votes)

Special Committee to consider relationship

between Committees and

the States

Senator Reginald Robert

Jeune, O.B.E.

**Industrial Relations** 

Committee

Deputy Philip George Mourant of St. Helier (Senator Jane Patricia Sandeman defeated by

37 votes to 15)

Land Reclamation

Committee

William John Morvan, Connétable of St. Lawrence

Chairman, Joint Advisory

Council

Deputy Jack Roche of

St. Saviour

**Industrial Disputes** 

Officer

Deputy Michael Walter

Bonn of St. Peter

Deputy Industrial

**Disputes Officer** 

Senator Bernard Thomas

Binnington

THE STATES rose at 4.10 p.m.

E.J.M. POTTER,

Greffier of the States.